

## **Carrier Liaison Program**

July 24, 2020 CLP@dhs.gov

## Waivers of Presidential Proclamations 9993 (Schengen Area) and 9996 (United Kingdom and Ireland) for Academics and Students

- On March 11 and March 14, the President of the United States signed Presidential Proclamations 9993 (Schengen Area) and 9996 (UK and Ireland) titled "Suspension of Entry as Immigrants and Nonimmigrants of Certain Additional Persons Who Pose a Risk of Transmitting 2019 Novel Coronavirus".
- There are twenty-six countries in the Schengen area: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.
- Students with valid F-1 and M-1 visas, and their F-2 and M-2 dependents traveling from or otherwise physically present in the Schengen Area, the United Kingdom, or Ireland during the preceding 14 days may travel to the United States while these Proclamations are in effect. F and M visa holders subject to these Proclamations have been granted a national interest exception to travel and can be boarded without contacting CBP as long as all admissibility and document requirements are met.
- There may be other nonimmigrant visa holders that have approved waivers that are not annotated on the visa, CBP may have additional information about these individuals. Airlines should contact their RCLG or IAP for boarding guidance should a traveler claim to have been issued a waiver.
- This guidance is in addition to the previous travel proclamations, which are still effective.
- The Secretary of Homeland Security directed all flights to the United States<sup>1</sup> carrying persons who have recently traveled from, or were otherwise present within; the United Kingdom, Ireland and the Schengen Area arrive at one of the 15 designated United States airports where the United States government is focusing public health resources to implement enhanced screening procedures. Crew, and flights carrying only cargo (i.e., no passengers or non-crew), are excluded from this requirement. This includes deadheading crew.
  - o Those 15 designated airports are:
    - John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), New York;
    - Chicago O'Hare International Airport (ORD), Illinois;
    - San Francisco International Airport (SFO), California;
    - Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA), Washington;
    - Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL), Hawaii;
    - Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), California;
    - Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL), Georgia;

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> For purposes of this Notice, "United States" is defined as "the States of the United States, the District of Columbia, and territories and possessions of the United States (including Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, American Samoa, the Northern Mariana Islands, the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, and Guam).

- Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD), Virginia;
- Newark-Liberty International Airport (EWR), New Jersey;
- Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport (DFW), Texas; and
- Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW), Michigan
- Boston Logan International Airport (BOS), Massachusetts; and
- Miami International Airport (MIA), Florida.
- Ft. Lauderdale Hollywood International Airport (FLL)
- Houston George Bush International Airport (IAH)
- o This list of affected airports may be modified by an updated publication in the Federal Register or by posting an advisory to follow at www.cbp.gov.
- Sections 271 and 273(b) of the Immigration and Nationality Act provide that it is unlawful for commercial carriers to transport improperly documented aliens to the United States. Carriers that transport aliens subject to the Presidential proclamation may be subject to a carrier fine for each alien brought to the United States.
- Carriers are advised to take measures to ensure compliance with the terms of this policy.
- Any questions concerning the scope or implementation of the proclamations and the Federal Register
  notices, including the authorization for any alien to board an aircraft or otherwise travel to the United States
  to seek admission, should be directed to the appropriate Regional Carrier Liaison Group or other designated
  CBP official, such as an Immigration Advisory Program (IAP) or Joint Security Program (JSP) officer, for
  adjudication prior to aircraft departure.
- IAP and JSP officers have the final recommendation on boarding in their country location, as they may be in possession of additional information not available to other CBP entities.

## Regional Carrier Liaison Group:

RCLG	SERVICE AREA	PHONE NUMBER
Honolulu	Asia, Pacific Rim	808-237-4632
Miami	Latin America, Caribbean	305-874-5444
New York	Europe, Africa, Mid-East	718-553-1783